The former school building was used as a subcamp of KZ Neuengamme from 1944 onwards. In April 1945, the SS murdered 20 Jewish children and at least 28 adults there, who had previously been subjected to pseudo-medical experiments at KZ Neuengamme. In 1980, the Association Children from Bullenhuser Damm founded the memorial site within it, which has continued to develop over the past decades. In 1987, school operations ceased and the building was designated as a protected heritage site. The building, which has been largely vacant for many years, is to be developed in the future into a vibrant place for encounters, learning, and work.Representatives of the Hamburg Foundation for Memorial Sites and Learning Places, the Association Children from Bullenhuser Damm, and Hallo: Association for the Promotion of Space-Opening Culture e.V. will lead tours through the former school building and present future usage concepts in a changing environment. Participation is free. An event for Open Monument Day.